History of Government College Hoshiarpur

Government College Hoshiarpur, Punjab, India, situated at the foothills  of the Shivalik, caters to the educational needs of Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar and Gurdaspur districts of Punjab. It came into being in 1927 as an intermediate college with Shri Bihari Lal Bhatia as its founder principal.  In 1943,it was upgraded to a Degree college in view of the great demand from people because at that time erstwhile Kangra district and present day Una district of Himachal Pradesh were also among the areas to which the institution catered.

This premier educational institution of Punjab has a proud history and a glorious past. Here is an institution,rich in traditions and attainments ,which takes legitimate pride in the fact that Dr.Manmohan Singh ,former Prime Minister of India, Sh Gurbachan Jagat,Chairman U.P.S.C and Sh.Ramesh Inder Singh,Chief Secretary,Punjab studied here at different points of time .Perhaps no other college in the northern region can match this great nursery of talent.

This glorious institution has always excelled  in academics, sports and cultural activities. Continuing its rich traditions, it aims at contributing its best towards the education of the population of the sub-mountainous region better known as Kandi Area of Punjab. At present having a faculty of 56 teachers ,the college imparts education in 8 Post Graduate courses .Moreover it offers Under-Graduate Courses in Arts ,Science ,Commerce, Agriculture and Computer Science.

Since its inception ,this college has been providing access to higher education to a predominantly rural /agrarian population. The college has produced countless alumni who hold /have held the highest positions and honors in different walks of life.Poets like Sahir Hoshiarpuri, Muneer Niyaazi and Prem Kumar Najjar had been students here while Dr .Jagtar and Suresh Seth had been teachers .Sh.Gurbachan Jagat ,Dr.Ashok Kundra ,Sh. C.L.Bains,Mr Ramesh Inder Singh,Ms Sudha Pandey, Mr Jerath,Mr Sunil Arora,Mr Ravi Chopra,Mr J.P.Sharma,Mr Sanjiv Arora ,MrTuhin Kant Pandey ,Mr Rajeev Arora,Ms Ambika Parmar,Ms Shweta Nakra and Dr.Ravneet Singh are some of the names who have done this institution proud as eminent civil servants.

© 2016 Govt. College Hoshiarpur | Website Developed by:- iTBrains